Two Key Phrases To Instantly Change Your Mood

You are a big fat liar (and so am I)!
Actually, we all are liars and we lie to ourselves every single day. That’s a truth bomb right there! We find ourselves saying “I should,” “I have to,” and “I can’t” to ourselves and out loud to justify our behaviors or to soothe our aching egos after feeling like we let someone (or ourselves) down.
What’s worse is that we believe these lies are truth and they begin to pull us down in the trenches of negativity and pessimism. Words are incredibly powerful and help us to create our self-confidence, our self-worth, and our entire inner and outer environment in which we live. They help us create or destroy our goals and dreams. They make up our entire day and our entire human experience.
We live in perception of what we believe we see. So, if we tell ourselves one thing or another, we begin to believe what our words train our thoughts to believe. And, our thoughts then begin to influence our mood.
Why does this even matter to you?
keywords-letters-2041816_1920
Over the past few days, I noticed something interesting. My self-talk made a huge difference in how I felt and how quickly I could shift my mood and mindset into one that was more productive and more positive. The more I used words like “I should” or “I have to” or “I can’t,” the more  sad and depressed and angry I felt.
“I have to get out of bed now.” “I should just go to the grocery store even though I feel exhausted.” “I can’t even handle the thought of one more to-do on my to-do list.” 
Just writing those statements felt negative and low in energy. Think about how much we all do that on a daily basis- set ourselves up for a negative attitude and a grumpy day. Well, I have a little secret to tell you…
…ready?
A simple switch in some words can make all the difference to change your thoughts and your overall mood. A simple switch in some words can recreate your dreams and allow you to achieve anything you set your mind to!
Sometimes, we can not just skip out on or gloss over an event in our lives because we may not feel like doing it. But, that doesn’t mean that we have to choose words that will make us feel worse than we already do.
I remember one Thursday morning when I was driving to the gym for my early morning workout, I felt a wave of exhaustion and pure fatigue wash over me. I caught myself saying, ” I have to go to the gym and get my workout in instead of sleeping in.”
Wow! I started thinking, Ok, Tansy, here is your chance to practice what you preach.
A simple change in my phrasing.

Instead, I started saying “I get to work out this morning and get a good sweat on.” “I get to wake up before everyone else and treat my body good.” “I choose to be healthy and strong.”
woman-1245817_1920
What a powerful change that made- switching a few words and repeating power statements over and over until I could FEEL my energy rise and my mood lighten.
Try statements like “I choose” or “I get to” or any statement that is based around self-empowerment and loving what you are doing.  Try it out, see the difference in how you feel, and watch your entire day change before your eyes!
Action Step:

Take action now! Where are you feeling less empowered and where are your words robbing your thoughts of accomplishing greatness? Do you have a go-to phrasing that you use? Simply become aware and start to notice where you are getting stuck in old self-sabotaging behaviors. When you become aware of your patterns, only then you can begin to make a change. Start simple and write one or two phrases down as a reminder for when you begin to backslide into old verbal habits. The choice is yours and you got this!

Go to the comment section. Make a comment and let me know what you have struggled with, what you have tried, and what your action plan is. The best discussions start between like-minded friends! Share this with your friends and get more people in on the action.

Do you want to learn more? This was a just a snippet into how you can apply this to your own life. If you are craving more and need to make a change in your life right now (or even if you are scared and don’t know what to do), I am here to guide you in the right direction. Contact me at tansynr@tansyrodgers.com to learn more about what you can do to get you from where you are now to where you always dreamed you wanted to be!

Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up to be part of my beU complete tribe. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my tribe!

Leave a Reply

