6 Exercises To Balance Your Energy Starting At Your Root

Our everyday thoughts, fears, anxieties, and behaviors are direct links to what is going on inside you. When I say that, I don’t necessarily mean what baggage that you are carrying from past traumas or old stories that you have learned over the years of your life. I mean that they are indicators of imbalances- physically, mentally, and emotionally. They are indicators of stuck energy and blockages that need to be addressed to correct the imbalances. The human body is an energetic being and there are numerous energy portals throughout the body. These energy portals that I am talking about here are called chakras. Chakra is Sanskrit for “wheel” or “disk” and they refer to wheels of energy in the body that are directly aligned to massive nerve centers. You will not actually see this energy, but it does create something called “prana.” Prana is the vital life force (what keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive) within each of us and when the chakras (wheels of energy) are slow or blocked, it creates a block in our prana (vital life force). When they are spinning too fast and out of control, the excess prana can cause other imbalances on the opposite end of the spectrum. We want to maintain a nice balance. There are seven main chakras aligned along the spine from tailbone to the crown of your head and each contain bundles of nerves and major organs as well as being attached to our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. When one gets backs up, the flow of prana begins to slow and the other chakras begin to get backed up too.

mala-beads-688163_1920

Putting my chakras to the test…

About 3 1/2 to 4 years ago, I went through a personal life transformation that changed my entire being and set me on a new path where I realized I would never be the same. Up until that point, I adopted so many stories from life’s traumas and influences that my fear, anxiety, depression, and lack of self-esteem was at an all-time low. I tried not to show it on the outside, but just getting through my day was a true challenge. I knew that change had to come, but I didn’t know where to begin. I felt clueless. Helpless. Frustrated. Lost. As life has a tendency to direct you to what you need when you need it, I rediscovered meditation and the chakra system. See, I dabbled before when I was in my early twenties. I believe life was bringing me to it to help me heal at that time, but I was too damaged to see and understand fully. So, as life does, it kicked me in the ass again and spun me back around. At that point, I felt heavy and weighed down (emotionally and physically). I easily gained weight, had digestive issues that would not seem to resolve themselves, had lower back pain (no matter how much core strengthening I did), and my energy levels were very inconsistent. I felt insecure, had increasing anxiety, and I was slowly detaching from people and socialization. I was stressed and I knew that my adrenal glands were maxing out. Finding inner peace and stillness was almost nonexistent with my monkey mind jumping all over the place every moment it could. I stressed about finances and never really felt financially stable. When I started to study energy and chakras, I had classic systems of blocked chakras and blocked prana, the most blocked being my root chakra. The root chakra is the grounding chakra and houses primal, basic energy. Located at the base of the spine, the root chakra is the energy center that is associated with your most basic survival needs, including financial stability. I started a very simple practice that involved basic exercises to open up my root chakra, some visualizations and meditations, and a few other detailed tips to stimulate that chakra. My results were life changing. My self-esteem, inner peace, fearlessness, and ability to feel safe and open myself up to people increased immediately. I began to lose weight in those stubborn areas that previously were just not budging. I felt slightly lighter in my step and my energy increased quickly. My anxiety lowered and my depression lifted and my mood began to stabilize. And, over the course of these past 3 1/2 to 4 years, I started to balance out other chakras that have been holding me captive from living a truly abundant life and having the courage to walk towards my life goals. I am not the same girl I was 4 years ago and, 4 years from now, I will not be the same woman I am now. This is a process.

How can it change you?

Tell me if you ever feel like this?

Do you:

  • Deal with constipation or digestive issues?
  • Have chronic back pain or back problems?
  • Feel restless?
  • Feel anger or aggressiveness easily?
  • Worry about money lack and financial stability?
  • Feel insecure and full of self-doubt?
  • Easily gain weight or deal with eating disorders?
  • Feel a lack of abundance in most areas of your life?
  • Deal with sexual dysfunction?

How many of these hit home for you? If you answered yes to more than one of these, you may have a slow or blocked root chakra.

girl-1219336_1280.jpg

Movement therapy for the root chakra

Focus on activity that is grounding and forces you to put pressure into the Earth. Really, any physical activity will heal the root chakra, but there are specific movements that can speed up your healing. Focusing on balance is super helpful because it increases proprioception, awareness, and stability (remember, a blocked root chakra is all about feeling unstable.) The key is being aware of your movements and your position in space. Here are some of my favorites (and ones that I use)!

tree-pose-389698Tree pose:

Standing tall and erect, shift your weight onto your right foot so that you are doing a single leg stand. Draw your left foot up and place the sole against the inner right thigh, if possible, press the right heel into the inner left groin, toes pointing toward the floor. The center of your pelvis should be directly over the right foot. Press arms up and overhead with palms facing each other and drawing body as tall as you can. Hold this for 10-30 seconds, depending on ability. Change legs.

outdoor-685417_1920.jpgSquat with floorboard push aparts:

Stand upright with your feet shoulder width apart. Allow your tailbone to extend downwards. Lightly, flex and straighten your knees to warm your legs up. After a few repetitions, your legs should be warmed up. Next, slowly lower into a squatting position with your hips pressed back and your knees behind toes. As you lower down, lift both arms upward and overhead. Hold for 5-10 seconds. As you return to standing, take both feet and press down and out into the floor, like you are trying to push the floorboards apart. Do NOT straighten knees completely. This stops the flow of energy. Do this 5-10 times.

 

girl-lying-on-the-grass-1741487_1280Bridges:

Lie on your back with your knees bent and your feet flat on the floor. Raise your hips off the floor so that your body forms a straight line from your shoulders to your knees. Pause at the top for 5 seconds then slowly lower your body back to the floor. Perform 10 times.

collection-1484131_1280Ceiling pushes:

Lying on the floor, straighten your right leg completely. Bend your left knee towards your chest and take a strap, putting it around the arch of your left foot. Extend your left foot towards the ceiling with your foot flexed towards you. Take the strap and slide it side to side on your foot, feeling the warmth stimulate the sole of the foot. Inhale. Exhale as you push your foot into the strap and towards the ceiling, straightening it as straight as you can. Pause. Inhale as your bend your left knee back towards your chest. Perform this 5-10 times on each side. If your leg begins to tremble, that is the energy flowing and opening up. This is a good thing!

 

stretching-814227_1280Single leg squats:

Shift weight to right leg and balance on the right leg while left leg is extended slightly forward. Squat down until you have about a 45 degree knee bend, all while keeping the left leg elevated off the floor. Keep back straight and right knee aligned with right toe. Hold for 5 seconds. Slowly raise back to start position, Perform 5-10 on each leg.

stretchen-1634784_1280.jpgWide leg forward bend:

Stand with your legs shoulder-width apart and arms at side. Place your feet three to four feet apart depending on your height (taller people should take a wider stance) and rest your hands on your hips. Turn your toes parallel with each other. Engage your core muscles and lean forward as you exhale. Once your torso is about parallel to the floor, extend your arms straight and press your fingertips into the floor directly below your shoulders for support.  Fingertips should be pointing forward. Push your pelvis upward and with support from your arms, slowly lower your torso to the floor. If you can bend far enough that your forearms can rest on the floor and the crown of your head can touch, that is even better! Hold for 10-15 seconds and return to start. Perform 5 times.

What else can I do to heal the root chakra?

The root (1st) chakra responds quite nicely to physical exercise, more than say the 6th or the 7th. But, those are not the only ways you can balance that energy and heal your symptoms. There are other ways that you can increase your healing that involve color therapy, the foods you eat, aromatherapy, affirmations, and simple tactics that you can infuse in your day to effortlessly balance your root throughout the day. Talking about those tips here would make this blog way too long!

To get those tips, sign up for my newsletter here at www.tansyrodgers.com

 

 

untitled.png

Action Step:

Take action now! Could you relate to any of these questions above? Do you feel that you need to open up your hips and your energy to start to allow more balance physically and mentally? Perform the above exercises every day for the next 2 weeks and note any changes that come up in your day to day life and in the way you feel mentally and emotionally. If you have any questions how to perform any of the exercises, please feel free to contact me! Now, share my “Shout And Share” with all your friends to help get them balanced and feeling more vitality and wellness!

Go to the comment section. Make a comment and let me know what you have struggled with, what you have tried, and what your action plan is. The best discussions start between like-minded friends! Share this with your friends and get more people in on the action.

Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up for my FREE newsletter. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my newsletter subscribers!

 

Leave a Reply

