How To Coconut Oil Pull For Beautiful, Healthy Teeth

Coconut oil pulling has been around forever and has been a cherished practice in Ayurvedic medicine for ultimate oral health. In truth, it’s health benefits span far beyond just dental health. I got on a habit of oil pulling when I was cleansing, but I quickly fell off the bandwagon because I didn’t realize how prolonged oil pulling could heal so much deeper than just the surface benefits like helping to whiten the teeth and defunk the mouth. When I discovered and studied the truth and the deeper benefits behind oil pulling, I realized how detoxing of a practice it really is and why ancient Ayurvedic practitioners cling onto it so tightly.

I love tea. Oh, how I love my coffee. And with that love, comes the inevitable staining of the teeth and the acidity that can promote an environment for bacteria to breed. Sounds gross, but it is the dirty truth! So, finding a practice that can maintain my pearly whites and help to heal more deeply is essential for me.

oil-pulling

What are the benefits of oil pulling like a pro?

Seriously, there are so many health benefits to taking the time to making this a part of your regimen! Here are some of my favorites:

  • Cleans the mouth of bacteria (If you have had a root canal, it is imperative to oil pull!)
  • Whitens teeth
  • Decreases inflammation
  • Clears up acne
  • Decreases plaque build up and tooth decay
  • Heals bleeding gums
  • Kills bad breath
  • Strengths the jaw
  • Prevents cavities
  • Improves the immune system

I have experienced whiter teeth, less sensitivity to acidic foods and cold water, decreased plaque, cleared up sinuses, and less facial acne.

Tips of the experienced.

  1. Do not swallow the oil! It should be full of bacteria, toxins, and pus and you certainly do not want to ingest that!
  2. Spit the oil into the trash. The oil can harden and then clog the drains.
  3. Use your shower time for more than just showering. You want to oil pull for 10-20 minutes (I do 15 minutes) and a shower is typically the easiest time to squeeze it in.
  4. Keep a tissue with you. Towards the end of the oil pulling session, the oil can easily seep through your lips. Hey, just keeping it real!
  5. If you have sinus issues, the mucus that it pulls out may make you gag. Make sure to blow your nose before and after the oil pulling.
  6. Oil pull 3-4 times per week with coconut oil and add essential oils, such as peppermint, to your mixture to help heal even more.

olive-oil-1433506_1280

What oil can you use to oil pull?

It depends on your goals. Many resources talk about using sesame oil, but if you have an allergy to sesame seeds, this would be a huge concern. I don’t find sesame oil as soothing, BUT, you can really “see” that you are doing something. So, if you are the kind of person that likes immediate gratification, then sesame oil would be very enticing because after your oil pulling session, the oil turns whiter and you can see that it doesn’t look “clean,” showing you that you have removed some serious nasty bacteria.

I personally prefer coconut oil because of how it makes my mouth feel. My mouth feels clean and I have experienced that it helps to whiten the teeth more effectively. After a mere week, I have already seen massive differences in the hue of my teeth and they feel stronger.

Some articles say that you can use olive oil, but it may be more harsh on the mouth. Just make sure that you are not using oils such as canola, vegetable, soybean, corn, etc. These are high in Omega-6 fatty acids and can increase inflammation in the body.

How do you oil pull?

Check out my video below to show you how to start coconut oil pulling today. I included a little tip for an extra added mouth cleaning bonus and some humor to lighten you day!

Share this out, yo!
oil-pulling-detox-shout-and-share

Action Step:

Take action now! What goal do you have in your oral hygiene? What do you want to accomplish from oil pulling? This will help you determine which oil is best for you. Pick out your oil and, if you do not already have it in your cupboards, then make that trip to the store right now- go ahead, I will wait- and follow the instructions in my coconut oil pulling video above. Now, share my “Shout And Share” with all your friends to help get them on the oil pulling bandwagon!

Go to the comment section. Make a comment and let me know what you have struggled with, what you have tried, and what your action plan is. The best discussions start between like-minded friends! Share this with your friends and get more people in on the action.

Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up for my FREE newsletter. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my newsletter subscribers!

Leave a Reply

