7 Ways To More Motivation And Creativity

I attempted to revisit my childhood love of drawing and art because I remember how inspiring, relaxing, and fulfilling I felt to me.  It was a disaster.  It has been at least 10+ years since I have purposely put a pencil to paper to create a mental image and the results were just that- lost skill and decreased focus.  It was frustrating and maddening, but I forced myself to sit with it and push through.  Putting images down. Allowing my imagination to create.  Regardless that I was still frustrated with the outcome, I was pleased with the fact that I accomplished a task that now felt foreign to me.  I stepped outside the box. I realized from this experience that this was like any other task that may be foreign and fearful for people. When I first stepped into a gym and started creating my life’s path, I was an empty palette and needed to gain the skills, knowledge and confidence to push on and motivate me to continue.  I ultimately knew that what I was doing was a healthy and rewarding venture.  In small intervals, I exposed myself to the “uncomfortable” task and allowed myself to be fearful, open, and raw. Unbeknownst to me, that was exactly what I needed for motivation.  I needed to allow myself to FEEL how good it felt and EXPERIENCE a new task.

wall-981153_1280

Busting down the walls of your box!

There are an infinite amount of ways to bust down the walls of the box that keeps your motivation and creativity confined to mediocrity, but here are a few ways that can get you started and get your mental juices flowing to come up with your own personalization:

  1. Do your exercises in a different order. Nothing says dull, Dull, DULL more than doing the same ole’ boring routine in the same order, day in and day out. Not only is it ineffective for your body and stops results right in their tracks, but it is freaking boring. Change up your exercise order or rearrange your normal exercise routine so that you are pairing up body parts that you normally would not train together. If you really want to motivate and stimulate the heck out of your brain, try a week or two of completely changing your routine and exercises and do something totally different than you do now.

  2. Take a new route to work and explore roads you always wondered where they went to. This is one of my favorites! When I start to zone out and realize that I have no idea how I got from point A to point B, that is my cue that I am in autopilot and under-stimulated. Take a new route home from work or make that turn onto a road that you always wondered where it would lead you to. Get rid of the ho-hum drives, unless you are in need of some deep thinking time, and watch your creativity skyrocket.
  3. Say “Yes” to something you would normally say “No” to. Take a chance, ya’all! Do something that you would normally not do. This instantly helps to build the neural pathways to change your habits and push you out of your ruts. Take a little risk. Order that new meal that you normally wouldn’t eat at a restaurant or try a new activity you normally wouldn’t try. Whatever it is, make sure it’s different and out of the norm for you! Creativity and motivation is fueled by opening the flood gates and allowing yourself to take a risks.
  4. Wear colors you wouldn’t normally wear. Oh my gosh, seriously- be spontaneous! Try wearing a new color of clothing you normally wouldn’t or accessorize with a piece that is a little more “gawdy” than you normally would gravitate towards. If you barely ever wear orange, then wear orange. If you normally wear dark clothing or solid patterns, pick something that is bright and vibrant (even if it is just a little pop of color) and/or wear something with a bold print. The point is to stray away from the same patterns and colors of clothing you normally wear.
  5. Eat something new. There are so many variations of foods and dishes out there, and yet we limit ourselves. Most of us don’t go outside our food circle and rarely if ever do we even attempt to try new dishes. Trying something new will not only mentally challenge you to step outside of your norm, but it will also provide your body with vital nutrients that it may not normally get. If you “hate” vegetables, have a salad with your favorite salad dressing or eat a vegetarian dish at a local Indian restaurant. Who screams for ice cream? And who screams for plain vanilla ice cream? If you said “Me,” then it may be time for you to branch out and try the Moose tracks or the Double chocolate fudge brownie.
  6. Do something memorable each day. If you really are serious on busting down the walls of your box, then this is an imperative one. Each day should be special and slightly different from the day before.  You want to make sure you do something that will make each day different and stand out from the rest. It doesn’t have to be big, but it should be something from your heart and something that would fulfill you. If you haven’t talked to an old friend in a while, maybe today is the day. Perhaps it’s been quite some time since you’ve picked up a book. Get reading. The goal is to do something that makes your day memorable and beautiful.
  7.  Shower and brush your teeth differently. Do you normally start on the left side and work your way right? Try starting on your right side. Do you normally shampoo first when you shower? Start with body wash this time. Change up your patterns to get your brain retrained for openness, increased energy flow, creativity, skill set changes and realizations that you truly can do anything you want to do!

 

share-button

“Sometimes motivation to pursue your dreams is nothing more than stepping outside the walls of your box and putting one foot in front of the other.” ~ Tansy N. Rodgers

 

quote-1444099_1280

Sometimes motivation to pursue your desires and dreams is nothing more than stepping outside the proverbial box.  Putting one foot in front of the other.  Moving and experiencing.  Conquering your fear of change. Living in that moment and truly being present with the task. Once you can appreciate what you are doing and find what your purpose is of doing it, motivation to continue just naturally follows.

I am going to keep practicing my drawing and my art and attempt to recreate what I once loved so much.  I am going to put one foot in front of the other.  I am motivated!

Are you?

ACTION STEP:

Take action now! Are you feeling stuck in a rut and are ready to bust down the walls of the box you are stuck in? Do you need to find that spark to ignite motivation? Maybe you just need to enhance the spice in your life. What can you do to get started? Pick one of the suggestions above, or make up your own. Every morning, create a plan of how you will create more motivation and creativity into your day. What will be your change today?

Go to the comment section. Make a comment and let me know what you have struggled with, what you have tried, and what your action plan is. The best discussions start between like-minded friends! Share this with your friends and get more people in on the action.

Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up for my FREE newsletter. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my newsletter subscribers!

 

Leave a Reply

