You Are Limited (And Other Lies You Tell Yourself)

You are limitless.

That simple phrase can evoke a slew of emotions and how you react can vary from person to person depending on your conscious and subconscious beliefs, how you grew up, what your current environment supports, and how you feel about yourself. That phrase can create massive success or keep you poor and always on the search for more. What is it that makes us as human beings doubt ourselves so much that we place these limitations on our potential that, ultimately, stunts our personal growth and squashes our dreams? What allows us to truly believe in our hearts that we are destined to live in lack and accomplishing our deepest goals are merely a dream? What makes us feel powerless?

The answer? Your brain.

esteem-1408796_1280

The human mind is limitless. If you think about the truth of that statement and have a hard time sinking into that concept, think about this- Everything that has ever been discovered or created or accomplished has been done so with the mind. Everything that exists, exists out of creation and that creation is formed by a thought and that thought has been put into an action of physical creation. That means that the world you see around yourself right now is a creation of your mind and your thought process and beliefs are reflected through how your life is currently playing out. Try this…

Sit back and begin to focus intently on what your life looks like right now. What exists in your life that makes you happy and feels fulfilling to you? What brings you stress and turmoil? What does your financial standing look like? How are your relationships? Let your mind wander and truly assess what your life represents at this point in time. Now start to think about all of the ways that you may have consciously or subconsciously created your life through your self-made limitations. For example, do you have a limiting belief that you are not smart enough to learn the skills necessary to get a better job? This limitation often represents itself as financial lack. Do you have a limiting belief that you can only be worthy of true love if you acted or looked a certain way? This limitation can creep up into life as relationship strains and/or excessive weight gain. See, our deepest thoughts create a ceiling on what we allow ourselves to become and achieve.

brain-1295128_1280

Truth bomb-These limitations have not necessarily have been chosen by you! These limitations have been created since the day that you were born. Everything that comes into your life and into your conscious awareness is embedded inside of you and you either choose to believe or disbelieve what you are influenced by. I recently was talking with a man who was very poor and on Medicaid. He lived in a one bedroom apartment and did not have a bed to sleep in. He barely had money for groceries. He is an alcoholic and had just lost his job a few days prior due to inconsistency with being at work. When I said to him that the loss of his job could be an opportunity for him to find something better and a wake up call for him to get sober, he said to me, “I can’t look for a better job because I need to make a certain amount of money. If I make more, I will lose my health benefits and not be able to afford my diabetes medication. I drink and I don’t know how to change that. I have just learned that I have to live poor and scrape by if I want to eat and take my medication. My life sucks but this is just how it is.” He went on to tell me that he was fearful of letting anybody get close to him because he knew in his heart that everybody was going to let him down. He said that he knew that no one truly cared about him and that he was alone in this life. This man’s story tugged at my heartstrings and it really got me thinking about the limitations that we set on ourselves. Yes, this man is an addict and an alcoholic. And through this self-numbing and the limited belief system that he had set into place, he created a life of turmoil and anxiety and lack of abundance. As I sat there and listened to him, I started to wonder what his life was like growing up. What mindset was he taught and how did he choose to believe them rather than choosing to make his own path and raise the ceiling on his limitations? I knew that I would not change his entire mindset, but I could at least help to give him a good day and allow him to see that there is positivity and encouragement that exists in this world. I know that limitations, or the lack of limitations, are created by the environment we interact with. Maybe my encouragement and support could be a little nugget that would open up a door in a different direction for him.

share-button

“Everything that has ever been discovered or created or accomplished has been done so with the mind- You are limitless!”  ~ Tansy N. Rodgers

Now, go back to the brainstorming session you just had. And instead of going through what is reality at this moment in time, I want you to daydream and create the optimal life. What do you dream of? What do you desire? What would fulfill you and bring you closer to being exactly who you are and who you want to be? Create this in living color and think of the details of exactly what you want in your life right now. After you do that, it is time to start retraining your brain and focusing on your thoughts and self talk. Instead of using the words “I can’t”, start using the words “I choose to” or “I get to.” Simple phrases like these are empowering and freeing and start to squash away those limitations of what you think you can achieve and what you think you are worthy of. They open you up to possibilities and allow your dreams to flourish and allow more abundance into your life. You are truly limitless and you are only limited by your current state of mind. The human mind is way more powerful than we can even fathom and we only tap into a very small portion of it at any given point.

IMG_4915

 

 

So, I dare you. I dare you to open up your mind and start to question your personal limitations that have been set. I dare you to explore where they came from and how they are currently holding you back. I dare you to live your dreams and to realize that the only limitations that are placed upon you are placed upon you by yourself. I dare you to be magnificent and amazing. I dear you to be limitlessly you!

 

ACTION STEP:

Take action now! What are your limiting beliefs that hold you back from greatness? Pick one or two areas of your life that you wish were different. Step back and think about that area in depth. For example, Financial struggle and debt. Some limiting beliefs could be that:

  • You do not feel that you deserve to make over a certain amount of money
  • It is not spiritual to have a lot of money
  • If you gain money, you will quickly lose it
  • You have to work hard to make money

All of these, and many more, are limiting beliefs that hold you back from truly obtaining the financial stability that you deserve.

Once you have written down some of your big limiting beliefs, it is time to begin changing your mindset around and retraining your brain. For each and every limiting belief, I want you write down 3-5 positive affirmations to turn that around and repeat them daily. For example:

  1. I deserve abundance and money to live out my dreams
  2. Money does not define my self-worth
  3. I possess the skills necessary to create an abundant and stress-free financial life

This will feel very weird at first. It may even feel like a lie. It may make you question your sanity. But, with practice and daily, regular affirmations like this above, you will begin to change your mindset permanently and begin to truly believe it in your heart!

Go to the comment section. Make a comment and let me know what you have struggled with, what you have tried, and what your action plan is. The best discussions start between like-minded friends! Share this with your friends and get more people in on the action.

Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up for my FREE newsletter. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my newsletter subscribers!

Leave a Reply

