Balancing Chakras To Quiet Your Crazies: Alternative Medicine Series

Most have probably never heard of chakras, let alone know what they are and how they affect the body. They may even come across as being a woo-woo concept for those who are more spiritually minded or holistically-based. In reality, chakras are an ancient concept and have proven to be worth the time getting acquainted in what they are and how they can affect you. These days more people are thinking about how they work and what their role is within the body and how they can balance out our energy and every aspect of our health.

chakras-310119_1280

Simply explained, chakras are energy vortices, or spirals that exist within the etheric body. A vortex is a swirling mass and it draws energy into its center. When the vortex is open, the energy flows naturally and the influences coming from that vortex are more balanced. When closed or blocked, this energy can not flow so naturally and gets pent up in that area, causing imbalances and health problems. As the energy flows into the chakra, it flows through it, transmitting “life force” throughout the entire body.

The word chakra comes from the Sanskrit and means “spinning wheel”. There are seven major chakras and many other minor chakras. The seven major chakras are situated along the spinal column and begin at the base of the spine, extending to the crown of the head.

Chakras help us detect when we are out of balance and alignment, depending on health concerns or addictions or life issues. For example, I have personally dealt with “voice issues” my entire life. Since I was a little girl, I was shy and afraid to speak my mind. I was afraid to voice an opinion or let someone know when I was not ok with what was going on. When I was scared or sad or afraid, I felt a “lump in my throat.” I never really felt free to just express myself. I was nervous to sing or hum in front of people. I always thought this was part of my personality and it was “who I was,” until I stumbled upon the chakra system and what it was and how it presented when a chakra was blocked or open. I realized in 2004, that my throat chakra was severely blocked and it was causing massive problems to my self-esteem, creativity, and self-expression. I studied and gained knowledge and two years later, I decided to get a tattoo of the chakra onto the area in which it lies, to remind me to unblock and keep the energy flowing for a more healthy self-esteem. This knowledge has balanced me so much more and it was truly a beautiful asset into my life. Come with me on a little journey…

root

1. Root Chakra: “I am”

Color: Red
Location: Base of the spine
Associations: Survival, standing up for yourself, financial independence, security, grounding, stillness and stability
Imbalances: Fatigue, low back pain, depression, cold hands and feet
Healing: Exercise and restful sleep, red food and drink, red gemstones and clothing, red essential oils (ylang ylang or sandalwood)

Balancing this chakra: Gives energy to the physical body, controls fear, increases overall health and grounding.

sacral

2. Sacral Chakra: “I feel”

Color: Orange
Location: Lower abdomen below navel, genitals, womb
Associations: Feelings, ability to be social, pleasure, sexuality, well-being
Imbalances: Alcohol and drug abuse, depression, allergies, yeast infections, urinary problems, sexual problems
Healing: Massage, orange food and drink, orange gemstones & clothing, red essential oils

Balancing this chakra: Improves sexual vitality, physical power, and fertility

solar_plexus

3. Solar Plexus Chakra: “I do”

Color: Yellow
Location: Upper abdomen, stomach area
Associations: Personal power, self-confidence, self-control, humor, intellect, will
Imbalances: Digestive problems, diabetes, constipation, memory loss
Healing: Learning, doing puzzles, detoxing, yellow food and drink, yellow gemstones and clothing, yellow essential oils (lemon)

Balancing this chakra: Calms emotions and frustrations, eases tension and increases learning to better utilize intuition.

heart

4. Heart Chakra: “I feel”

Color: Green
Location: Center of the chest, above the heart
Associations: Ability to love, joy, inner peace
Imbalances: Heart and breathing issues, breast cancer, high blood pressure, muscle tension
Healing: Family time, spending time with nature, green food and drink, green gemstones & clothing, green essential oils (pine or eucalyptus)

Balancing this chakra: Improves circulatory system, heart, and thymus. Improves spiritual love, compassion, and universal oneness.

throat

5. Throat Chakra: “I speak”

Color: Light Blue
Location: Throat
Associations: Communication, relationships, trust, loyalty, creativity, synthesis of ideas into symbols
Imbalances: Thyroid problems, hormonal issues, fever, menopause, mood swings
Healing: Singing, conversations, collecting, blue food and drink, blue gemstones and clothing, blue essential oils (chamomile)

Balancing this chakra: Important for improving the speech and communication areas of the brain.

brow

6. Third Eye Chakra: “I see”

Color: Indigo
Location: Forehead, between the eyes
Associations: Intuition, imagination, ability to make decisions, psychic abilities, “seeing”
Imbalances: Learning disabilities, sleeping disorders, imbalance
Healing: Watch the stars, meditation, indigo food and drink, indigo gemstones and clothing, indigo essential oils (patchouli)

Balancing this chakra: Improves psychic ability and stabilizes the pineal gland.

crown

7. Crown Chakra: “I understand”

Color: Violet
Location: Top of the head
Associations: Ability to connect spiritually, knowingness, spirituality, connection to God
Imbalances: Headaches, mental illness, senility, lack of coordination, rashes
Healing: Focus on dreams, writing down inventions, violet food and drink, violet gemstones and clothing, violet essential oils (lavender)

Balancing this chakra: Gives vitality to the cerebrum and affects the development of psychic abilities.

 

share-button

“I balance my chakras to quiet my crazies”

~Tansy N. Rodgers

 

ACTION STEP:

Take action now! Does the concept of chakra balancing resonate with you? Do you feel that you may have some blocked chakras that desperately need some work? Take note of the predominate area of your life that seems to be lacking, according to the descriptions above. Start with only one chakra! Begin to apply some of the tips above and see if these areas of your life begin to lessen and/or resolve. Balancing out your chakras is vital for feelings of fulfillment, pure sustained health, and harmony within your Whole body. If you find yourself confused or need some extra guidance, email info@tansyrodgers.com for further help and guidance!
Go to the comment section. Make a comment and let me know what you have struggled with, what you have tried, and what your action plan is. The best discussions start between like-minded friends! Share this with your friends and get more people in on the action.
Do you currently use chakra balancing in your life? If so, I want to hear all about it! Live your life with passion and purpose…
Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up for my FREE newsletter. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my newsletter subscribers!

Leave a Reply

