3 Health Hacks You Need To Know About Today

“hack” /hak/

noun: Clever uses for everyday items or concepts in seemingly strange or innovative ways.

Health hacks rule my world! I am a total, self-proclaimed minimalist when it comes to taking care of myself.  I want to achieve results as fast and efficiently as possible, all while relying on as few products as I can. Unclutter my cabinets. Clear out my gym bag. Put my money towards buying quality and leave the thousands of cheap, ineffective, high-hyped products on the shelves. As I stand in front of my tub —yes, I said TUB — of raw honey, I ponder ways to put it to good use and the little girl inside of me giggles with excitement of all the innovative ways I can use it in my everyday life. I am always looking for new hacks and so should you. They cut down on time, money, and stress and make life a heck of a lot more fabulously interesting!  Here are three of my favorites to add to your book of tricks.
honey-823614_1920

Get pampered, soothed, and softened with honey. Did you run out of your favorite moisturizer? Is your skin feeling dryer than the Sahara Desert? Did you know that raw honey is one of the world’s perfect skin enhancers? Honey is a humectant. It helps to soothe and pamper by putting a protective layer over the skin and trapping in moisture, allowing it to heal and soak up the moisture. Honey has also been researched to possess anti-irritant and anti-inflammatory properties. Sweet deal! This is exactly why I wash my face with it and put it onto my skin when my skin is super freaking dry and/or breaking out. It gives me a fresh glow and helps to heal up acne and blemishes. You can put it directly on the skin or you can make a mixture of honey and essential oils to really bump up the healing power. Let it sit on the skin for 10-30 minutes, depending on how dry the skin is, and then wash it off.

Hack on a hack? If you are trying to remove makeup, I would suggest mixing honey with baking soda until you get a light brown paste. The baking soda exfoliates the skin and cleans off the makeup. The honey then comes through for that second clean up,  moisturizes and replenishes. This is my go to!

swearing-294391_1280

 

Curse to reduce pain when working out. What?!? What gives the cursing method the power to eliminate pain and help you push through the discomfort of a more challenging workout? Research has shown that cursing is a coping mechanism that brings focus away from the activity and the pain and more on the act of the cursing itself, even helping you to forget about the hurt or fear of potential pain you are experiencing. It has shown to decrease blood pressure and calm the nervous system. Interestingly enough, it is NOT about yelling or screaming just anything at all. A recent study called “Swearing, euphemisms, and linguistic relativity,” by Bowers, J.S. and Pleydell-Pearce, found that the nervous system reacted more strongly to curse words than to euphemisms or neutral words. F*&%ing interesting…

Let’s get real…An occasional outburst to yourself is totally justifiable and can bring you one step closer to getting through a tough workout. Remember, however, that you are most likely in public and belting out a pile of curses is just rude and unacceptable to those around you. Be appropriate and considerate to your fellow gym-goers.

It works for me too! When I go running and have to climb a hill that, in my mind, resembles Mt. Everest, the cursing comes out and I have a completely inappropriate conversation with myself. By the time I get to the top of the hill, I am super excited and feeling accomplished that I was able to push through. So, let that s*@t out and watch the pain disappear.

cherries-390952_1920

Get juiced to reduce swelling. 3 words. Tart Cherry Juice. This one simple health hack can transform your workout recovery and perform an overhaul on that precious, incredible body of yours. You want one product that delivers a complete punch to your system? Get on the tart cherry juice bandwagon. So what makes it so special?

  • Helps post-workout recovery by increasing your potassium, a mineral essential for maintaining blood pressure, hydration, muscle recovery, nerve impulses, digestion, heart rate, and pH balance.
  • Reduces swelling and is shown to be more effective than NSAIDS (anti-inflammatory drugs).
  • Banishes inflammation and arthritis pain with the many antioxidants it contains.
  • Helps improve sleep. Combine it with melatonin and you will be in a deep slumber in no time.
  • Stabilizes metabolism and fights fat, thought possibly through the anthocyanins, a type of flavonoid that give cherries’ their vibrant red color. The combination of reducing inflammation and anthocyanins has been shown to decrease overall body fat.
  • Boost immunity with the heavy hitting antioxidants tart cherries posses. Flavonoids, a type of antioxidant in cherry juice, are made by plants to fight infection, therefore boosting immunity.

share-button

 

“Hacking your health takes the pain out of the gain”

~Tansy Rodgers/beU Complete

 

ACTION STEP:

Take action now! How can you put these health hacks into your daily life? Which ones resonate with you and which ones will benefit you the most? Take action and get started on making your life easier and working towards incredible gains.

Go to the comment section. Make a comment and let me know what you have struggled with, what you have tried, and what your action plan is. The best discussions start between like-minded friends! Share this with your friends and get more people in on the action.

Do you currently have health hacks that you swear by?  If so, I want to hear all about it! Live your life with passion and purpose…

Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up for my FREE newsletter. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my newsletter subscribers!

Leave a Reply

