A Personal Journey Through The Candida Cleanse

For years, I have felt “off.” Some days I feel amazing and other days I feel like a healthy person just should not be experiencing some of the symptoms that I was. The symptoms were becoming chronic but I was actually believing that all of it was “normal.” I should have kicked myself in the pants immediately for thinking this! From the onset of regular migraines to excessive shoulder and neck chronic pain. From digestive issues caused by certain “random” foods to sporadic nail fungus to an onset of UTIs. And then, the kicker – this damn consistent and chronic mucus that I am being plagued with. Enough was enough and I KNEW my body was screaming at me to wake up. It took much investigation, but once I got to what the core issue may be, it all made sense. Candida. I want to share my experience with you to educate you, encourage you through your own struggles, and provide myself with accountability and self-encouragement. So the journey begins…

11/29/15

I have completed the cleanse!!! Yesterday was my final day, but it does not totally stop here. Now that I cleaned out the garbage, I must plant the flowers. Now comes the time to heal my gut lining, work on my digestive strength, get my immune system nice and strong, and ease into my 80/20 balance for life. What an awesome ride this was. I lived the candida cleanse to the fullest so I could truly learn, feel, and discover what it was like to have my body back- to be truly free within my entire physical being. That is exactly what I got with this cleanse: Freedom. My digestive health is strong. My bloating is super minimal. My candida mucus is gone. My severe inflammation, aches, pains, and muscle discomforts are resolved. The nail fungus and UTI’s are either eliminated or on the fast track to getting lost. My skin is vibrant and glowing with minimal acne. I have this steady energy and buzz about me (when I address my stress levels and sleep well). Life feels good and I can not wait to see what happens next. Thank you all so very much for following me on this journey and asking questions, giving support, and showing true interest in how it is affecting me so that you can see if it could help you. I am completely taken back by the positive support that you all gave to me! Check out below what the next phase looks like…

Supplements: For short-term restructuring gut health, maintainence, and tapering off anti-fungals (some of these will not be long term, rather many are limited)

  • Oregano Oil- 10 drops of the liquid, 3 x a day after meals.
  • Grapefruit Seed Extract- 1 250 mg capsule, 3 x a day with meals
  • Olive Leaf Extract- 1 250 mg capsule, 3 x a day with meals
  • Pau D’ Arco Tea- 3 cups a day
  • Cod Liver Oil with butter- 1/2 tsp in my smoothies
  • Himalya LiverCare- Since this cleanse is quite rough on the liver, I have added some Livercare tablets into the mix. 2 a day before meals.
  • Life Caps by Dr. Rons
  • IPS by Biotics
  • ADB5 Plus by Biotics
  • Zypan by Standard Process

As needed:

  • Aloe Vera Juice- Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)- I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.
  • Vitamineral Greens- 1 tsp

Before Bed:

  • Now’s Phosphatidyle Serine- I realized that I have been battling some adrenal fatigue as well. Now the cleanse has helped to decrease my adrenal fatigue a lot, but I notice that I still have quite elevated energy in the evening (my second wind) and then find it very difficult to shut things down and fall asleep. I take 1 tablet before I get my “2nd wind.”
  • Probiotic that is more comprehensive- Before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night, as needed.
  • Melatonin- 3 mg at night as needed to help me fall asleep.

Nutrition

So, I move onto my 80/20 diet while focusing on gut healing. What does that mean? That means that 80% of my nutritional habits will be clean eating by following all the healthy habits I adopted on the cleanse and still being able to reintroduce fermented foods, a variety of fruits ( 2 a day), a large variety of vegetables, and healthy sugars and sweeteners in moderation. 20% of my diet can consist of those “cheat foods.” In that list, coffee, chocolate, alcohol are all counted as the 20%. It also accounts for any processed unhealthy foods, white flours, sugars, baked goods, white pastas, etc. I really enjoyed the abundance of cooking that I was “forced” to do. The foods were incredible and I truly enjoyed the freshness of what I was cooking. I will definitely keep up that habit!

Cravings

Mindful self realization #12: Even though my cravings dropped, this cleanse allowed me to go within and really look at my past, my present, and my stress levels and discover a little more of why I craved sweets so much. It was a true eye opener and will require deeper inner self healing to totally squash the sugar cravings that have held onto me for so long.

What I have noticed

  • Sugary foods are now too sweet for me. My palate has totally changed!
  • My body “feels” ready. I can feel that I am healed and cleaned out and ready to progress. My body just knows.
  • I enjoy the lack of brain fog so much. My clarity was my biggest surprise and truly made me realize how much this cleanse was changing my life.
  • I continue to enjoy all the benefits from the past entries and now can actually “feel” when I have overeaten or when I have had too much of a certain food and am feeling off balance.
  • I am filled with much gratitude for this journey. Along with cleaning out the physical candida, I feel as though I have cleared out emotional and mental blocks that have allowed me to open up and progress in other areas of my life. That was not what I was expecting, but it was a beautiful “side effect.”

11/21/15

As I approach my last week on the cleanse, I realize how much transitioning is going to be a bit of a mental struggle. It isn’t because I will not know what to eat, rather it is because I feel mentally “concerned” that I will feed the candida again. Now, I know that it is a fear and not necessarily reality if I transition healthfully and know what increases the yeast overgrowth, but still it kind of weighs heavy on my mind. I mean, too much stressors (stress, yeasty foods, alcohol, sugars, unhealthy carbs and sugars, caffeine, and exposure to harmful parasites) can really start the cycle over again. I do know that going back to the way that I was eating is so undesirable and that I really do not need as much sugar and carbs as I thought that I once did. I also do not need to eat as much as I used to. I was calming so many emotions and fears and worries with food (just like I grew up doing). The biggest thing with this journey is that it taught me to soothe my emotions and needs outside of food and to really tune into my body and my brain and accept what was really bothering me and go from there. So, here comes the last week and here is where I start to wean off my anti-fungals. I still have plenty left, so I am going to use them to wean off rather than another suggested supplement on the program that I am following.

I did see my naturopath this past week and got my check up. He was super pleased with my progress and said that all the levels look like they are exactly where they should be while being on a super restrictive cleanse. So, after next week, I will begin the “gut healing” protocol where I will combine his supplement suggestions and healing foods to repair/strengthen my gut and liver. I will also begin the 80/20 balance after next week.

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Oregano Oil- 20 drops of the liquid, 3 x a day after meals.
  • Probiotic- 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Pau D’ Arco Tea- 3 cups a day
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night, as needed.
  • Aloe Vera Juice-  Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)-  I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.
  • Himalya LiverCare- Since this cleanse is quite rough on the liver, I have added some Livercare tablets into the mix. 2 a day before meals.
  • Now’s Phosphatidyle Serine- I realized that I have been battling some adrenal fatigue as well. Now the cleanse has helped to decrease my adrenal fatigue a lot, but I notice that I still have quite elevated energy in the evening (my second wind) and then find it very difficult to shut things down and fall asleep. I take 1 tablet before I get my “2nd wind.”
  • Melatonin- 3 mg at night as needed to help me fall asleep.

Nutrition

I made some healing bone broth and have been drinking 1 cup most days. It is pretty delicious! I added oregano, thyme, and rosemary along with a tad of sea salt. So yummy! I continue to drink my turmeric ginger lemonade regularly, along with daily cups of dandelion tea for liver support.

Cravings

Mindful self realization #11: My cravings are very steady and minimal, but I do realize that I crave moderation now. Eating out is incredibly tough when on this cleanse long-term. I realized how taxing most foods on a typical restaurant menu are to the body. They may be delicious, but how comforting is that in comparison to a digestive system that feels rocked following each meal.

What I have noticed

  • No new changes at this time!

11/13/15

My journey so far has been interesting and some days a roller coaster depending on how much stress I have allowed into my life, the amount of environmental triggers, if I overeat, and when I do not take care of my own personal needs of self care (internal and external). I have a little over 2 more weeks to go and I can FEEL the candida is pretty much out of me. My body feels so different inside. Definitely something I never thought I would have noticed!

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: 1 more day left!
  • Grapefruit Seed Extract: 2 tablets for 3 meals a day.
  • Olive Leaf Extract: 2 tablets for 3 meals a day.
  • Probiotic- 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night, as needed.
  • Aloe Vera Juice-  Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)-  I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.
  • Himalya LiverCare- Since this cleanse is quite rough on the liver, I have added some Livercare tablets into the mix. 2 a day before meals.
  • Now’s Phosphatidyle Serine- I realized that I have been battling some adrenal fatigue as well. Now the cleanse has helped to decrease my adrenal fatigue a lot, but I notice that I still have quite elevated energy in the evening (my second wind) and then find it very difficult to shut things down and fall asleep. I take 1 tablet before I get my “2nd wind.”
  • Melatonin- 3 mg at night as needed to help me fall asleep.

Nutrition

Getting a crock pot this weekend to make my bone broth! Staying strong on the nutrition plan with no cheats thus far. I am working to make this minimal sugar and no gluten more a lifestyle rather than isolated to 8 weeks. I feel so much better! When I transition into my 80/20 lifestyle, this will be so much easier to maintain.

Cravings

Mindful self realization #10: My female monthly cycle has really stabilized and I hardly have any physical signs of pain and discomfort. I do notice that I still crave food more, BUT, it is healthier foods. I still crave sweets and salt, but they are satisfied by sea salt and healthy sweets. My mental clarity has allowed me to see it is something salty and sweet rather than, “I need a piece of chocolate!”

What I have noticed

  • My body is more tuned into the changing of the seasons and it feels quite natural. I am craving warm, savory foods and warm, comforting teas.
  • My digestion is operating so smoothly. I no longer have the aches and pains and indigestion from my meals. I wonder if this is because I am healing my gut lining and/or because I am preparing trigger foods to aid in digestion. I have been soaking nuts and seeds prior to eating them and soaking grains before cooking them.
  • My emotions are deeper. I feel more in tune with my physical body and my mental clarities are much more obvious. This is good and bad at times! Good because I can work through them and see what I need more clearly and bad because, sometimes, I just don’t want to have to experience the depth that the emotions is stirring up.
  • Stress makes me crave. I believe in healing the root causes of any outwardly cause first. So, this whole process has definitely been my wake up call to address my stress levels. Because, from here, most other concerns fall by the wayside!

11/9/15

5 Weeks down and 3 more to go. I can honestly say that my entire being has been transformed. Even though my diet was quite healthy and clean prior to the cleanse, I can not even fathom not keeping up on the nutritional end, to some extent. I have added and changed some many foods in my diet that make me feel amazing. Where have I been my entire life?!? I look forward to the journey after the cleanse!

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Last week of this! YEAH!!
  • Pau D’Arco tea: Deliciously 3 cups a day after meals.
  • Grapefruit Seed Extract: 2 tablets for 3 meals a day.
  • Probiotic- Strengthening my gut like a champ! 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night, as needed.
  • Aloe Vera Juice- Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)- I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.

Nutrition

I made this delicious zesty chicken stirfry and a fritta last night. Both are amazing and so fresh. The most exciting news that I did have was my ability to have the occassional sweet potato fries. Love, love! Bought my chicken bones to make my bone broth. Now I need a crock pot….

Cravings

Mindful self realization #9: My cravings are much lower, but I need to make sure that I eat adequately throughout the day. If not, I am ravenous in the evening and want to eat everything insight. Plus, my stomach feels awful when I eat a heavy meal right before bed. I need to limit that as much as possible.

What I have noticed

  • Everything that I have reported previously is improving and I am feeling so amazing!
  • The nasal drainage is driving me mad. I need to find a good lung decongestant!
  • New week, new sleep patterns…that is my goal.
  • Meditation and mindfulness is necessary when cleansing. When your body is taxed, so is your stress. Rest and recovery is vital!
  • My skin is glowing
  • Since I started daily oil pulling with coconut oil, my teeth and gums looks healthier than they have in a long time! I smile and my smile radiates.

11/5/15

Drum roll, please….so, I completed the reevaluate “spit test” for 3 days and I am about 80% improved! I couldn’t be more excited in my results. My candida is dying faster than I thought it would. Now, I could officially start adding in some health-enhancing foods and stop the anti-fungal rotation, but I decided that one more round of anti-fungals (about 2 more weeks) of this diet would be wise, just to “tidy up” the remaining candida overgrowth. At that point, I can start to add in a few foods that will enhance. This is going easy-breezy!

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Yep and I continue to wash it all down with an extra 16 oz of lemon water. Only a max of 1 1/2 more weeks of this stuff.
  • Oregano Oil: I actually love this stuff. I feel like it works the best and shows noticeable results in my symptoms! 20 drops under the tongue for 3 meals a day.
  • Pau D’Arco tea: I may be running to the bathroom every 5 minutes with all this extra liquid, but it sure tastes good! 3 cups a day after meals.
  • Probiotic- Strengthening my gut like a champ! 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night, as needed.
  • Aloe Vera Juice-  Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)-  I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.

Nutrition

No real changes here. Technically, I can start adding in Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) and I may start to do so periodically.

Cravings

Mindful self realization #8: Stress makes my cravings way worse. My stress has been off the charts this past week and my cravings have been more present. Now that I recognize this, I recognize the need to soothe myself in other ways than with food.

What I have noticed

  • Everything that I have reported previously is improving and I am feeling so amazing!
  • The extra clearing of my throat and the coughing is due to sinus and allergy issues. I never really had allergies, but I think the cleanse is enhancing them. One more way for the junk to leave my body.
  • I think I am dealing with a bit of adrenal fatigue as well. Thank goodness, this diet helps to heal adrenal fatigue at the same time, however, there are other areas of life I need to be more vigilant about. Think stress and sleep. This has to be a priority now.
  • I have been using a tongue scraper regularly. It is disgusting, yet eye opening and a god sent.
  • My tongue is much more pink and healthy looking.
  • I am oddly really looking forward to adding fermented foods into my diet!

11/1/15
Yowzers! 4 weeks DONE and onward I move… today and for 2 days following I will perform my reevaluated spit test. So excited to see the results! But, for now, let’s check in on how the past 4 days went….
Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Yep and I continue to wash it all down with an extra 16 oz of lemon water. Only a max of 2 more weeks of this stuff.
  • Grapeseed Fruit Extract: 2 capsules a day for 3 meals, therefore 6 total.
  • Oregano Oil: I actually love this stuff. I feel like it works the best and shows noticeable results in my symptoms! 20 drops under the tongue for 3 meals a day. Started this today.
  • Probiotic- Strengthening my gut like a champ! 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night, as needed.
  • Aloe Vera Juice- This makes my smoothies so yummy – has a nice sweet flavor. Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)- I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.

Nutrition

Staying par for the course, but my biggest realization is how I feel and how my body reacts when I overeat. If I overeat because of stress or boredom or other factors, I feel awful. My stomach is bloated and I can’t think right and I feel digestively slow. So, even though my nutrition and diet have been incredibly clean, I need to LISTEN to my body and my stomach and stop feeding the monster if the monster is not actually growling at me. I also noticed that drinking minimal water during meals is beneficial for less bloating and digestion issues. Note to self…no more water logging, please!\
Cravings

Mindful self realization #7: Suga’ what???? My cravings are super low and I am super stoked! I feel like I finally have a hold on my sweet tooth instead of it controlling me. I crave savory meals now. Meals that have substance and flavor and depth. Meals that I can smell and engage all my senses in. What a difference!

What I have noticed

  • Everything that I have reported previously is improving and I am feeling so amazing!
  • The past four days, I have felt very comfortable with my nutrition and what I have been eating and focusing my attention on, even when I am out to eat.
  • Greasy, processed meals are so less appetizing and actually don’t have the appeal they once used to.
  • My stomach is finally settling into this diet and I feel like a lean, mean, well oiled machine!
  • I am super mindful and sensitive ( more than I normally am) to stimuli around me. My brain fog is gone!
  • I still miss my occasional beer and wine, BUT, merely because I enjoy the complexities of them and the experience I have when socially drinking a pint or two.
  • Stressful events will be the death of me if I do not get a hold of them.
  • I need a lot of sleep to replenish and rejuvenate my already taxed body.

10/28/15

I am well into my fourth week on this cleanse and it continues to be progressing well! The biggest thing that I’m noticing at this point, is sinus issues. Listen, I never had to deal with huge sinus or allergy problems, so this drainage thing that is happening – I feel for you all that have allergy issues! My throat feels scratchy from the draining and I feel like I need an ice pack on my fiery hot, irritated throat area. I have no other symptoms of sickness, thank goodness! 2-4 weeks left and I am trucking right along. I am totally stoked though. On Sunday, I get to retest myself to see how much candida I booted out of my system. Ms. Candida and I should have sat down for a talk prior to this – she has no idea who she is messing with!  Got my eye on a much anticipated saliva test…

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Going strong and I continue to wash it all down with an extra 16 oz of lemon water.
  • Olive Leaf Extract: 2 capsules a day for 3 meals, therefore 6 total.
  • Grapeseed Fruit Extract: Back on the grapeseed fruit wagon. Yah-yah! 2 capsules a day for 3 meals, therefore 6 total.
  • Probiotic- Strengthening my gut like a champ! 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night, as needed.
  • Aloe Vera Juice- This makes my smoothies so yummy – has a nice sweet flavor. Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)-  I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.

Nutrition

I have been religiously sipping 2 cups of hot plain water throughout the day for 2 times a week to help clear out my lymphatic system. It is oddly refreshing! One of my favorite recipes so far it is the paprika garlic roasted chicken with veggies. Oh, and the coconut lemon cake…YUMMY! One of the best things about this cleanse, is I have been trying many different vegetables. Even though I am a health freak, it is easy to get stuck in my routines, therefore, foregoing experimentation. I love roasted carrots, celery, and potatoes.. Wow!

Cravings

Mindful self realization #6: I crave an evening tea now. It is like my reward and a soothing end to the day. My sweet tooth has diminished so much that I find myself not craving sweets nearly as bad. It’s about friggin time!

What I have noticed

  • Everything that I have reported previously is improving and I am feeling so amazing!
  • My mental clarity is skyrocketing and I have a much quicker response time and am much better able to make quick, in-depth decisions.
  • My throat is sore, but I think that it’s because of whatever is going on with my sinuses. Therefore, I have been clearing my throat more regularly.
  • My energy is so much better and so much more stable.
  • I really am in tuned with my stress levels and realize how much I need to monitor them on a consistent basis.
  • I am much more full on less food!
  • My meditations are totally rocking and I am getting deeper connections and mediation sessions. Love this!

10/24/15

As I finish up my 3rd week, I realize how much I am truly getting used to this lifestyle. I will feel less stressed knowing I will not have to be quite so strict and take so many antifungals, but I know now that lifestyle changes are happening and I don’t know if I want to go back to where I truly started, even though the majority of it was incredibly healthy. Therefore, the lesson here will be balance and adhering more to an 80/20 rule – 80% on and 20% off. That I can live with! I also started to use a tongue scraper to help rid my tongue of the candida that is leaving my body.

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Going strong and I continue to wash it all down with an extra 16 oz of lemon water.
  • Pau D’Arco tea: I really have a taste for this tea now! 3 cups a day for 4 days.
  • Olive Leaf Extract: 2 capsules a day for 3 meals, therefore 6 total.
  • Probiotic- Probiotic is a must to help strengthen my gut. 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night.
  • Aloe Vera Juice- This makes my smoothies so yummy – has a nice sweet flavor. Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. As needed.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp most days for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)-  I do 2-3 tbsps a most days in my smoothies.

Nutrition

The recipes I have made have been incredible! I just made a turkey polenta casserole last night for dinner. The diet is getting so much easier and my body is feeling cleaner in general.

Cravings

Mindful self realization #5: My cravings for sweets are diminishing. I do realize that many cravings are more psychological – hand mouth connection. If I drink tea, chew gum, etc, my cravings feel slightly satisfied. I am learning to soothe myself in non-food ways.

What I have noticed

  • My senses are so much more sensitive! Greasy foods are so disgusting smelling and strong chemical scents make me headachy and nauseous quick.
  • Being mindful and slowing down to enjoy food and my emotions are making this lifestyle much easier and much more enjoyable.
  • When I don’t sleep, I am incredibly tired and cranky. And my cravings sky rocket!  Even more important now…
  • I am really witty and mentally quick without stress and brain fog!
  • My skin is a great determiner on when I am not drinking enough, sleeping enough, or have too much stress.
  • I am continuing to gain much more confidence than I have ever had.
  • I am learning to soothe myself in other ways rather than by food.
  • I am continuing to lose body fat in my midsection and getting quite trim!
  • The candida is leaving my body. My mucus has been so much less and I don’t cough quite as much. I feel human again!!!

10/20/15
Week 3…here we go! Progress is on the horizon and big changes are happening within me. I can finally see and feel the differences. And, I am eating more exciting and more delicious food concoctions than I have in a long time! I have also committed to “do this the absolute right way,” so whatever proves to be potentially healing to my body, I am on board. I just started taking Epsom salt foot baths and will make them a weekly part of my regime. The magnesium will help my body balance and heal and replenish this vital nutrient that most of us are deficient in. I am also very focused on my regular meditations and journaling and stress-reduction tactics. This has always been my greatest challenge, ya all, and, even though I may never truly master my stress levels, I am confident that my journey will make me more proficient with handling them. I also started oil-pulling with coconut oil. This helps to eliminate and draw out harmful bacteria in my mouth and decrease the likeliness of it being brought into my system.

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Going strong and I continue to wash it all down with an extra 16 oz of lemon water.
  • Oregano oil- 20 drops (500mg) under the tongue 3 x a day at meal time…20 burning drops that make my eyes water. HA! Actually, that was the first few times, but my body adjusted and it feels better now. These drops actually make me feel the best and decrease my phlegm incredibly!
  • Pau D’Arco tea: I am back on the tea. Good bandwagon to be on and it taste delicious. 3 cups a day. No problem now that tea is my best friend! Just started this rotation today.
  • Probiotic- Probiotic is a must to help strengthen my gut. 3-4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- 4 tablets at night.
  • Aloe Vera Juice- This makes my smoothies so yummy – has a nice sweet flavor. Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies.
  • Healthforce Nutritionals Maca- 1 tsp daily for mood balancing, energy, general health and healing, skin integrity, and extra vitamins.
  • Great Lakes Gelatin (Collagen)- Collagen is vital for skin integrity and overall healing of the body of my joints and gut lining. It also helps with my nails, gives me energy, provides more protein, and it aids in detoxing because it supports the liver (which is in pure overdrive right now). I do 2-3 tbsps a day in my smoothies.

Nutrition
I am still doing everything that I have been doing for the past 2 weeks. I have been dabbling with new delicious recipes and focusing heavy on my anti-inflammatory foods. I can not believe how absolutely delicious my foods have been these past 2 weeks. I am eating like a queen! I have made Christa Orecchio’s Turmeric Ginger Lemonade, which tastes amazing, and sip that daily. My next addition will be bone broth, once I buy some bones from the local butcher.

Cravings
Mindful self realization #5: My palate is changing and my desires for sweets are diminishing. I still crave in trigger situations, but it is so much better. I have also notice how much damn junk food and sweets enter my work kitchen! What an eye opener!

What I have noticed

  • My energy is more consistent and I feel better balanced.
  • My moods have been so incredibly stable.
  • The brain fog is lifting tremendously and I can think more clearly, articulate more clearly, and I feel and sound more like an intelligent woman. Comprehension of concepts is so much higher!
  • My skin is getting a beautiful glow and really clearing up.
  • I am gaining much more confidence than I have ever had.
  • I am losing bodyfat.
  • The candida is leaving my body. My tongue has been showing signs of detox and the mucus has lessened dramatically.

10/16/15

As I round the corner of finishing up my 2nd week, I am learning that my body is finally starting to feel the effects of how aggressive this cleanse is on it. That’s the negative. The positive, which I will focus on, is that I am learning and experiencing a ton of health and nutrition tactics and recipes to heal with food and to take the edge off. Little “tricks of the trade” you might say. Here is what I am learning, this is all about BALANCE. There is that “B” word again that I talk about so much. Not only do we need balance in our everyday life to make sure that we are keeping our whole person healthy, but we need inner balance to clean and repair and heal.

Supplements( outside of my normal supplementation)

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Ever present. I am actually getting used to chewing gritty stone-like mixtures.  I continue to wash it all down with an extra 16 oz of lemon water.
  • Grapefruit seed capsules- I have read that these little magic pills are to be super concentrated anti-fungal fighters, so I was anxious to see what they did for me. I didn’t feel any different, but just waited for them to work their magic awesomeness. 2 capsules of 250 mgs for 3 meals a day.
  • Oregano oil- Do you ever feel like an Italian hoagie? Today I did. 500 mg liquid oil under the tongue 3 x a day at meal time. Yowzers!
  • Probiotic- I continue to take these before bed, strengthening my gut lining and increasing my “good” bacteria. 4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- Life is good again… 4 tablets at night.
  • Aloe Vera Juice- Continue with this most days for heart burn and overall health. Adding 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies.

Nutrition

I never truly realized how much extra nutritional support I needed. I have been drinking trace mineral drops and Himalayan sea salt in my water bottle throughout the day. I just started to drink 2 cups of hot PLAIN water a few times a week to help flush out my lymphatic system. I have been religious about drinking at least 2 cups of hot green tea a day.  As for the nutrition regime, I have been sticking true. One thing I have noticed is that the more rice, quinoa, tortilla chips, and allowed carbs I eat, the slightly more phlegm I get…dang…I guess I need to drop back on them a bit. Green apples are getting more tolerable. I don’t want to throw them across the room anymore! Today, I am off to the health store to buy high quality gelatin, seaweed, ingredients for bone broth, and grass-fed butter so that I can really support my skin, liver, and internal operations like a powerhouse!

Cravings

Mindful self realization #3: My cravings are now getting to me. But, it is more trigger related. I realized that I have to keep my consumption of stevia and xylitol lower because that sweet taste increases my sweet cravings. I also have learned that I need to substitute and learn new habits. For example, at night, I now have a hot cup of herbal tea before bed instead of a sweet snack. That has really helped!

What I have noticed

  • One area to investigate is what I need to do to support my adrenal glands. Unlike last journal,  I am getting more regularly fatigued and the more I am realizing that sleep deprivation is definitely NOT wise during this cleanse. I have more energy on this cleanse if I have sleep. If I don’t, I feel wasted.
  • Intense exercise is problematic. I get dizzy and exhausted fast. 
  • There is a ton of food and recipes that I can make. I actually find that there is way more to enjoy than I ever thought.
  • I am sleeping much deeper and dreaming more than I was. It is like a nightly movie in my head!

10/12/15

Yesterday, I ventured into week 2. This candida diet is much easier than I thought it would be and I have been feeling surprisingly better than I thought I would! I have noticed so many “little things” that are actually quite big in the grand scheme of it all. I honestly can not wait to see how this all progresses…but until then…here is how it looks now:

Supplements

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: I am still drinking the sludgy cocktail first thing in the morning and it still tastes like muddy water. But, I am increasing the dose to 1 teaspoon each. I wash it all down with an extra 16 oz of lemon water.
  • Gaia’s Olive Leaf tablets- I just completed my 4 day rotation of the olive leaf. I have not noticed anything out of the ordinary with this supplement. 2 capsules a day for 3 meals.
  • Grapefruit seed capsules- Like I said before, candida is a tricky little bugger and mutates like a nasty monster, so this is my new antifungal rotation. I just start today. 2 capsules of 250 mgs for 3 meals a day.
  • Probiotic- Who needs stronger gut lining? Me!! 4 before bed and away from food.
  • Himalaya Triphala- Um, yeah, feeling a little “backed up” from sludgy cocktail. Started to use this to help things flow a little better. 4 tablets at night.
  • Aloe Vera Juice- Nasty heart burn was burning a hole through me (from the detox), so I started to add 2 oz of aloe into my smoothies. This helps to ease, calm, and alkalize the body. So much better and my esophagus says thank you!

Nutrition

I have continued on the diet and I am feeling amazing so far. The diet for this week is the same as last week. I started cooking more and expanding out to see what deliciousness I can create. This is living proof that healthy recipes and nutrition can be absolutely delicious, satisfying, and exciting. My palate is so very happy! From red lentil soup to bison lasagna to lemon coconut cake- I am in candida diet heaven!

Cravings

Mindful self realization #2: My cravings are so incredibly trigger related AND psychologically connected to memories. I am realizing that this is probably pretty prevalent with most people. What do I mean by this? We had a potluck at work on Friday and even though I could not really eat any of it, I was ok with that. When I went into the kitchen and there was a friggin’ cake sitting there, I kind of panicked immediately, but then I quickly realized that, nope I didn’t even have the desire to eat it. Nothing about it look appetizing. If any of you really know me, cake and icing are my pure sweet weakness! Saying that I love it is an understatement! But, it wasn’t until a coworker stood near me while eating a piece and I smelled it did I start to physically salivate and crave the treat. Hmmmm…very interesting. I also noticed that habits and happy scenarios increase my cravings. When I went out on Saturday night, and I couldn’t have a drink other than my delicious lemon water, I felt deprived and lonely and I started to crave alcohol. I didn’t feel the need for alcohol until that point and it quickly diminished after I left, but it was still ever present in an atmosphere where I associate fun and happiness with drinking a beer. I wonder how many of all of you experience this too, if you tuned into the moment.

What I have noticed

  • My moods are so very stable and I am much more happy than I have been in a long time.
  • I feel more energetic and need less caffeine. How the hell did that happen?!?!?
  • I feel less bloated after my meals and less bloated in general.
  • My frustrating mucus situation is much better and much lighter. It is still present, but definitely not as bad!
  • My skin is breaking out a little more and it is more in the hormonal areas (chin and jawline). Detox!
  • I am paying more attention to real hunger and, honestly, I am not as hungry as I used to be and I am eating less food.
  • Physically, I am getting tighter around my torso and my arms are becoming more defined.
  • My neck and shoulders are less tight and less painful.
  • I need a lot more sleep than I have been allowing myself to have. I have much less control and more irritation and more cravings when I am feeling sleep deprived.
  • I have a fear of reverting back after all this is over. Just like many of my clients, I have realized that I too have a great fear of not being able to maintain.
  • Overall, this diet kicks butt!

10/8/15

So, I am on my official first rotation of supplements. Apparently candida is incredibly smart and resilient and knows when something is trying to kill it off. Stubbornness prevails and it “adapts” to the antifungal, preserving it’s life and making the human friggin powerless. So, ok…we will outsmart this mutant and change up the methods. Here is what I have done so far:

Supplements

  • Diatomaceous earth powder and bentonite clay: Ok…here is the crazy earth sludgy drink that I drink EVERY morning before anything else. I mix 1/2 teaspoons of each into 8 oz of water and I sling that baby back like it is the most delicious cocktail that ever passed my palate. The reality is that it tastes like dirt and I feel like I am chewing on tiny little rock particles. BUT, it is necessary to help flush out and “carry out” the candida yeast. So, down the hatch it goes…
  • Traditional Medicinals pau d’arco tea- From days 1-4, I drank 3 cups of this a day with my main meals. It was quite delicious and I found that I really did not even need stevia in it! I feel so regal drinking tea all day!
  • Gaia’s Olive Leaf tablets- Today, I started the Olive leaf tablets. These are to help with my liver health, since this cleanse is quite taxing on the liver. 2 capsules a day for 3 meals.

Nutrition

Here is the sweet (no pun intended) thing about the diet end…I already buy and eat and teach others about the food that is my diet. Thank god! I ran into this issue because I was eating too many of the sweet good things and not balancing out AND then having the occasional sweet indulgence. Over the years, it was too much and my body revolted. So, my diet consists of 40% veggies with some root veggies, 40% organic, grass fed meats and eggs, 10% fruit (I can only have green apples, berries, or pomegranates) and seeds/nuts, and 10% non gluten grains (such as quinoa, brown rice, amaranth, etc). But, here is where it gets hard for me…NO alcohol, fermented foods, vinegars, coffee**, added sugar of any kind). I can have green tea and herbal teas, stevia for sweetening, beans occasionally (no kidney beans), and non-canola baked TORTILLA CHIPS! Rocking this diet like a champ!

**Ya all, I have been drinking coffee for 15+ years…even though it thins the lining of my gut lining, I have been having about 1/2 cup in the morning. That is the only place I have been lax on so far. Hopefully this will not set me up for failure!

Cravings

Mindful self realization #1: I crave sweets when I am tired and wanting to”disengage” with whatever is uncomfortable going on around me or within me. And it is a HUGE trigger factor for me. Oh god…only day 5…

What I have noticed

  • I am sleepy and do not feel my vibrant, roller coaster self. This is good and bad! My moods have been more stable and I feel a huge sense of peace and clarity within me. But, I have been quite mellow. Not sure what I think of that so far…
  • My level of energy for running is ridiculously low! Running 2-5 miles over the course of the past 2 days was extremely rough and taxing. Honestly, I feel like a turtle. They do say that detoxing and cleansing is very energetically taxing on the body, so I will need to plan accordingly. I want to run like a champ again!
  • I had massive headaches for the first 2 days
  • Deeper sleep
  • I feel bloated and “thick” around my stomach. I feel like a grape, actually.
  • Digestively, I am having a few issues being on the sludgy cocktail. I will leave it at that! I might have to adjust those levels.

10/5/15
Yesterday marked my first day of my 6-8 week Candida Cleanse journey as inspired by Christa Orecchio. The diet is quite limiting on some of my favorite foods, but also freeing because I already eat a majority of the plan! What made me feel that I may be dealing with some candida issues and what made me decide to do the cleanse? Well…there are a couple reasons…

1. Candida untreated is a breeding ground within your body for future diseases, cancers, and disorders. If you don’t treat it, the symptoms can increase and cause your body to be very acidic – a body that is toxic and has low immunity.

2. My symptoms were driving me batty and out of my mind! Common candida symptoms are:

  • Exhaustion
  • Cravings for sweets..like really bad!
  • Bad breath
  • White coat on tongue
  • Brain fog
  • Hormone imbalance
  • Joint pain
  • Loss of sex drive
  • Chronic sinus and allergy issues
  • Digestive problems (gas and bloating)
  • Weak immune system
  • UTI and yeast infections
  • Nail fungus
  • Excessive mucus and the need to clear your throat
  • Mood swings, depression, anxiety, etc
  • Chronic headaches
  • Excessive and chronic tightness in the shoulders and neck

What is candida? Candida is a fungus that aids with nutrient absorption and digestion, when in proper levels in the body. When it becomes overgrown, candida symptoms appear and start to break down the walls of the intestinal lining causing leaky gut syndrome. These toxins then penetrate through the wall of the intestines, get into the blood stream, and allow themselves to permeate throughout the blood system. Not good!

Why am I going digital with my candida cleanse experience? Because so many people are suffering with candida and have NO IDEA! So, this is about pure awareness and love for my fellow friends and their health!
So, every few days, I will be giving you an update on what I am doing, how I am feeling, and how this cleanse is healing me. I mean, I eat really really healthy overall, but too many sugars from healthy foods combined with stress and other provoking factors are the perfect breeding ground for candida to rear it’s ugly head!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

