Get Real! Questions from you to me

Q from you:
I know I should be exercising more. I really WANT to exercise more! I just have no extra time. I have to get the kids up in the morning and then I have to get ready for work. As soon as I get home from work, dinner needs to be made. I mean, really, how can I possibly be expected to spend an hour at the gym? I know you are going to say that I have time in the evening, right? I hardly have any energy by the end of the day. I am truly exhausted and not sure how I can rummage up the energy to workout, let alone even get to the gym. One of my goals has been to lose 15 lbs, but I feel like a failure because I can’t get my butt moving. Every new year, I vow that I will stay on track and get healthy and every year it gets pushed off.

There is always tomorrow, right? What can I do?

A from me:
One of the most common reported reasons (aka “hidden excuses”) that my clients and inquiring clients do not exercise as often as they would like to is lack of time. There are always obligations (work, family, school, functions) that pop up, making exercise seemingly hard to prioritize. Life is a balancing act some days and prioritizing exercise can truly rock the preverbal boat. The misconception for many is that to benefit from a workout, you need a long training session or that it has to happen in a gym. To obtain results, all you really need is 30 mins of a good, solid program (that can be spread throughout the day)! Here are some tips to fit exercise into a busy schedule.

First, it is important to mention the benefits of exercising and why you should bother to make it a priority? Exercise typically sparks thoughts of weight loss, but, in reality, it expands much deeper than that and will actually help to improve every other area of your busy life. Here are some of the incredible bonuses from exercise:

  • Helps control weight
  • Increases energy levels
  • Improves confidence
  • Lowers blood pressure
  • Improves cholesterol levels
  • Stabilizes blood sugar
  • Controls appetite
  • Reduces feelings of depression and anxiety
  • Reduces stress
  • Helps build and maintain bones, muscles, and joints
  • Enhances flexibility and posture

What are my top 3 tactics to fit more exercise into a busy schedule AND commit to it?

1. Designate a time for training and stick to it. One common mistake people make is telling themselves that they will “exercise when there is free time.” When you are busy, free time doesn’t just appear. You have to make it, and be purposeful about it. Designate a specific time and/ or place to fit fitness and activity in. And, make it a commitment! For some, performing a workout first thing in the morning, before obligations and distractions begin, is optimal. For others, it may be after everyone goes to bed or maybe spreading your workouts throughout the day into smaller bouts of exercise. Got time on your lunch break? There is always 10-15 minute intervals throughout the day to take advantage of. Find 2-3 of them and you got your workout in for the day. Easy breezy!

2. Make workouts efficient by embracing circuit training. The theory behind this is to keep the resistance lighter, repetitions higher, and the pace faster. You want to keep the pace high with minimal rest periods, except a short break to get a drink of water. During a circuit training, it is best to use your time wisely and incorporate multiple muscle groups at once. By doing so, your body has to work harder, expend more energy, and burn more calories. You will also challenge more body parts in a shorter time frame. Try incorporating multiple leg exercises into your circuit! When muscles are stressed, they require more blood to be pumped to that area and, since the quadriceps and glutes are larger muscle groups, you will find yourself working harder due to the levels of increased stress created.

Example circuit training: Perform 20-30 squats, 20 lunges each leg, 10 push ups, 20 slow and controlled crunches, and 10-20 burpees in a row without rest. Rest for a minute. Repeat sequence 2-3 more times.

3. Incorporate more physical activity into your daily activities. You don’t need to go to the gym to get a great workout in. There are other options to increasing your activity. Be creative during those weeks that getting to the gym is not possible.

  • At school or work: Walk the stairs on your breaks, walk to your destination, do isometric exercises using your desk or work station as resistance, do some squats or calf raises or lunges while waiting or on hold on a phone call, take a walk over your lunch break, etc.
  • At home: Do step ups onto a solid table or ledge, reverse crunches on the sofa, push ups with your feet on the coffee table, bicep curls and lat raises with some heavy books, walk the dog, clean house at a vigorous pace, etc.

ACTION STEP:

Take action now! Do you have a busy schedule that has held you back from exercise and committing to your workouts? Do you feel like you can relate to this client’s frustrations? Start with at least one tactic from this article and incorporate it today. See how you can transform your exercise habits and push through the “I don’t have time” excuse. Remember, you only have time if you make it! I want you to comment below or email me through my website, Facebook, or Twitter and tell me all about what you did.

Have you recently transformed your workout to accommodate your busy schedule? If so, I want to hear all about it! Live your life with passion and purpose…

Did you like what you read? If so, then get yourself over to http://www.tansyrodgers.com and sign up for my FREE newsletter. That’s how you receive my newsletters to your inbox and get to hear first hand about deals, news, and exciting new events that I only share with my newsletter subscribers!

Leave a Reply

